STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF VANCE

The Vance County Board of Commissioners met in special session on Monday, February

24, 2025 at 4:00 p.m. in the commissioners' conference room, Vance County Administration

Building, 122 Young Street, Henderson, NC. Those commissioners present were as follows:

Chair Carolyn Faines, Commissioners R. Dan Brummitt, Thomas S. Hester, Jr., Leo Kelly, Jr., and

Valencia L. Perry.

Absent: Vice-Chair Yolanda J. Feimster.

Also present were County Manager C. Renee Perry, Assistant County Manager Jeremy

Jones, Finance Director Stephanie Williams, County Attorney Jonathan S. Care, and Clerk to the

Board Kelly H. Grissom.

The purpose of the special meeting was to appoint an individual to the District 3

Commission seat which was formally held by Sean A. Alston, Sr., who stepped down to pursue

another opportunity. Four potential candidates that were qualified to obtain the seat were

interviewed during a special called meeting on February 17th. Those candidates were Doyle

Carpunky, Charisse Fain, Jeanette Floyd, and Charles Turrentine, Jr. Chair Faines thanked them

for applying and for their interest in serving their community.

Commissioner Leo Kelly, Jr. nominated Charisse Fain to fill the District 3 Commission

seat. Commissioner Thomas S. Hester, Jr. seconded the nomination.

Commissioner Dan Brummitt nominated Doyle Carpunky to fill the District 3 Commission

seat. There was no second to this nomination.

Vote to close the nominations and appoint Charisse Fain to the District 3 Commission seat

was unanimous.

As there was no further business, at 4:05 p.m., motion was made by Commissioner Thomas

S. Hester, Jr., seconded by Commissioner Dan Brummitt, vote unanimous, that the meeting be

adjourned.

Approved and signed March 10, 2025.

Carolyn Faines

(signed)

Carolyn Faines, Chair