STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF VANCE

The Vance County Board of Commissioners met in special session on Monday, December 30, 2024 at 10:00 a.m. in the commissioners' conference room, Vance County Administration Building, 122 Young Street, Henderson, NC. Those commissioners present were as follows: Chair Sean A. Alston, Sr., Vice-Chair Carolyn Faines, Commissioners R. Dan Brummitt, Yolanda Feimster, Thomas S. Hester, Jr., Leo Kelly, Jr., and Valencia Perry.

Absent: None.

Also present were County Manager C. Renee Perry, Assistant County Manager Jeremy Jones, and County Attorney Jonathan S. Care. Clerk to the Board Kelly H. Grissom was absent.

The purpose of the special meeting was to appoint a new chair to the board.

Chair Sean A. Alston, Sr., began by stating that he is resigning from the board of commissioners effective December 31, 2024 due to accepting position as a magistrate in Warren County. He stated that it has been a pleasure to serve on this board for the past two years and thanked his fellow commissioners for their support. He then asked for a motion to appoint a new chair for the coming year.

Motion was made by Commissioner Dan Brummitt to appoint Carolyn Faines as chair for the coming year. This motion was seconded by Commissioner Leo Kelly, Jr. and unanimously approved. Ms. Faines thanked the board and congratulated Commissioner Alston on his new position.

Chair Faines stated that she would like to table the election of vice chair until the January regular meeting.

Motion was made by Commissioner Thomas S. Hester, Jr. to appoint Leo Kelly, Jr. as vice chair for the coming year. This motion was seconded by Commissioner Leo Kelly, Jr.

Commissioner Yolanda Feimster stated that the board needs to respect the chair's wishes and made a motion to table this matter until the January meeting. This motion was seconded by Commissioner Dan Brummitt and vote was ayes – five (5); noes – two (2), with the dissenting votes being cast by Commissioners Hester and Kelly.

As there was no further business, at 10:10 a.m., motion was made by Commissioner Dan Brummitt, seconded by Commissioner Thomas S. Hester, Jr., vote unanimous, that the meeting be adjourned.

Approved and signed January 6, 2025.

<u>Carolyn Faines</u> (signed) Carolyn Faines, Chair